Video/Film , DVD in English

Nosferatu : a symphony of horror

freely composed by Henrik Galeen ; directed by F.W. Murnau.
  • Chatsworth, CA : Image Entertainment, ©2000.
  • Restored ed.
  • 1 videodisc (81 min.) : sound, b&w with colored tints ; 4 3/4 in.
  • DVD, NTSC; Dolby Digital.
Also known as
  • Photographer, Fritz Arno Wagner ; art director, Albin Grau.
  • Cast: Max Schreck, Gustav von Wangenheim, Alexander Granach, Greta Schroeder.
  • Feature films.
  • Motion pictures Germany.
  • Motion pictures Germany.
  • Vampire films.
  • Silent films.
  • Horror films.
  • Foreign films.
  • Drama.
  • Feature films.
  • Horror films.
  • Motion pictures.
  • Silent films.
  • Vampire films.
  • The first vampire movie. Count Orlock (Nosferatu, the vampire) leaves his castle in the Carpathians and travels by ship to Bremen, bringing coffins filled with dirt and plague rats, where he is destroyed by sunlight.
Other information
  • Originally produced as a motion picture in 1922.
  • Based on Dracula by Bram Stoker.
  • "Mastered from 35mm archive material. Restored edition features exclusive audio essay by Lokke Heiss and supplementary materials including then-and-now photographs."--Container.
  • Choice of two musical settings: Dolby Digital 5.0 Score composed and performed by the Silent Orchestra -- Organ Score compiled and performed by Timothy Howard.
  • "Copyright 1991 Film Preservation Associates."--Container.
  • MPAA rating: Not rated.
  • Language: Silent film with English intertitles.
  • OCLC
Publisher's number
  • ID0277DSDVD Image Entertainment
Identifying numbers
  • UPC: 014381027723
  • OCLC: 45817791
  • OCLC: 45817791