Book, Print in English

Debussy's Mélisande: the lives of Georgette Leblanc, Mary Garden, and Maggie Teyte

Gillian Opstad.
  • Woodbridge : Boydell, 2009.
  • x, 348 pages, [32] pages of plates : illustrations, portraits ; 24 cm
  • Friedheim -- Main stacks
    ML400.O678 D4 2009 c. 1
    In Process
    Use the request button to place a hold on this item.
  • Biography.
  • "Debussy's Melisande examines the colourful lives of Georgette Leblanc, Mary Garden and Maggie Teyte, and their involvement with Debussy's Pelleas et Melisande, illustrating the prejudices and difficulties women singers of their era faced. The three women presented here were not only remarkable for the resilience and initiative they had to develop, but also for their willingness to adapt themselves to the opportunities offered by the emerging technologies of recording, radio and film. It is also the story of the background to the opera's creation, and the frequently stormy relationships between the author of the original play (Maeterlinck), the composer, director, conductor and performers. This book will be of great interest to scholars and students of Debussy, opera, French music and theatre, Maeterlinck, and those interested in women's studies and biography."--Jacket.
  • Pelléas et Mélisande : from play to opera
  • Georgette Leblanc (1869-1894)
  • Georgette Leblanc meets Maurice Maeterlinck (1895-1898)
  • The row (1898-1902)
  • Mary Garden (1874-1900)
  • Mary Garden's breakthrough (1900-1902)
  • Preparations for performance of Pelléas et Mélisande (1902)
  • First performance and reactions
  • Mary Garden reaps success (1902-1907)
  • Return of Georgette Leblanc (1902-1907)
  • Pelléas et Mélisande at Saint-Wandrille
  • Maggie Teyte : her background (1888-1902)
  • Maggie Teyte's path to Mélisande (1903-1908)
  • Mary Garden in America (1907-1911)
  • Maggie Teyte's triumphs and disappointments (1908-1930)
  • Georgette Leblanc's rise and fall (1911-1919)
  • Mary Garden becomes director (1912-1931)
  • Georgette Leblanc after Maeterlinck (1919-1931)
  • Maggie Teyte's fresh start (1930-1945)
  • Georgette Leblanc falls ill (1931-1941)
  • Mary Garden's retirement (1931-1967)
  • Maggie Teyte after the war (1945-1976)
  • Silence.
Other information
  • Includes bibliographical references (pages 328-332) and index.
  • Friedheim copy: Gift of Joseph Tylenda.
  • 9781843834595
  • 1843834596
Identifying numbers
  • LCCN: 2009537230
  • OCLC: 259254677
  • OCLC: 259254677